definitions

Definitions

Symposia
These are the featured sessions of the Annual Meeting, with the topics either of current general interest or specially relevant to the region.  Most, if not all, of the papers are by invitation, and the content of the symposium is often ‘programmed’ to ensure coverage of the particular subject matter.  Publication of symposia proceedings is encouraged, subject to the usual constraints of peer review and approval by the editor.  The association sponsoring the symposia should be allowed to publish the proceedings of the symposium, if they so desire, and should at least be given right of first refusal. For examples, many GAC Special Papers, and issues of Canadian Mineralogist have had their origins in GAC/MAC symposium.

Each symposium has an organizer who is responsible for planning the session, inviting the speakers, refereeing the abstracts, setting the schedule of speakers and, if applicable, obtaining funding from the sponsoring body. Obviously, the symposium organizer must work hand in hand with the LOC Technical Program Chair and keep the latter informed of progress. Symposia are frequently sponsored by one of the parent societies (GAC or MAC), by an affiliated body (e.g. GAC division), or possibly even jointly by one of the parent bodies and a third party (e.g. CNC-IAH this year).  Sponsorship normally implies some form of support for the symposium such as a commitment to publish the proceedings or possibly a contribution toward the expenses of invited speakers.

Where the sponsor is providing funding for speakers’ expenses, this has normally been handled outside the financial structure of the meeting

Special Sessions
Special Sessions are normally subject or discipline oriented and last up to 2 days.  They differ from symposia in having few if any invited papers.  However, just like symposia, the special sessions are proposed by individuals or groups, and it is the responsibility of these people to advertise the specific sessions, plan the scheduling of talks, and obtain sponsorship if possible. Publication may or may not follow, and right of first refusal should be given to the sponsoring associations.

definitions

Définitions

Symposium
Les symposiums représentent les sessions phares de la réunion annuelle sur des sujets d’intérêt général ou spéciaux relevant d’une région particulière. La plupart des contributions, sinon toutes, sont sollicitées et le contenu du symposium est souvent programmé pour assurer la couverture d’un sujet en particulier. La publication des comptes-rendus des symposiums est encouragée, sujet aux processus de la révision par des pairs et l’approbation de l’éditeur. L’association qui commandite les symposiums devrait être autorisée à publier les comptes-rendus des symposiums si elle le désire et on devrait lui donner le droit de premier refus. Par exemple, plusieurs Papiers Spéciaux de l’AGC et des volumes du Canadian Mineralogists proviennent d’un symposium AGC/AMC.

Chaque symposium a un organisateur qui est responsable de la planification de la session, de l’invitation des conférenciers, de la revue des résumés, de la cédule des présentations et, si applicable, de l’obtention de fonds de commanditaires. Évidemment, l’organisateur d’un symposium doit travailler étroitement avec le responsable du programme technique du comité d’organisation local et tenir ce dernier informé des progrès dans l’organisation du symposium. Les symposiums sont souvent commandités par l’AGC et l’AMC, par une organisation affiliée (par ex. une division de l’AGC), ou encore conjointement par une des deux associations mères et une troisième organisation (par ex. l’AIH-SNC cette année). Une commandite implique nécessairement une forme de support pour le symposium comme un engagement à publier les comptes-rendus du symposium ou possiblement de contribuer aux dépenses des conférenciers invités.

Quand le commanditaire fournit des fonds pour les dépenses des conférenciers invités, ceci se fait normalement en dehors du cadre financier de la réunion annuelle.

Sessions spéciales
Les sessions spéciales portent habituellement sur une discipline ou un sujet spécifique et peuvent s’étendre sur deux jours. Elles diffèrent des symposiums en ayant peu ou pas de contributions sollicitées. Toutefois, comme les symposiums, les sessions spéciales sont proposées par des individus ou des groupes et c’est en partie la responsabilité de ces derniers d’en faire la publicité, d’établir la cédule des présentations, et d’obtenir des commanditaires si possible. Les contributions peuvent, ou non, être publiés sous forme d’articles et le droit de premier refus devrait être donné aux associations commanditaires.